Swimmers Shine at Awards Night



Leamington Spa Swimming Club held their annual awards celebration on January 3rd. Over 130 parents and children crowded Leamington Rugby Club to see trophies presented to swimmers, from both teaching and squads from the Club Chairperson, Rachel Saysell and Mike Hartwell, Development Head Coach, for their hard work, dedication and achievements over the last twelve months.

As a club we have had an incredible year full of excellent results and achievements. The Junior League team earned a place in the final finishing in fifth place. In the Mercian League we finished second and the

Arena League team narrowly missed the final by just one point. A total of eighty four teams participate in this league with Leamington competing in the Premier Division against top clubs from around the region, including many big city ones. Graham Nash, Performance Head Coach was so impressed with this achievement he awarded the team with the Junior Ambassador trophy. Ladies Captain, Ellen Stone accepted the trophy on behalf of the team.

Molly Quelch and Edward Jolly were awarded Ria's trophy. This special commemorative trophy is in memory of Ria Hickerton, a young swimmer with the club who died in her teens from Sudden Adult Death Syndrome (SADS). Ria's parents asked for the trophy to be awarded to a boy and girl that have shown significant improvement during the year.

In memory of Beeny, a swimming teacher at both Leamington and Newbold. The Beenie trophies are presented by teachers and coaches to swimmers who they feel represent the spirit of the sport with regard to attitude, behaviour, discipline and motivation. This year the awards goes to Niamh McClenaghan and Alfie Brown from teaching, George Hughes from Reception, Charlotte Hughes in Junior Development, Connell Parker in Junior Performance, and Joshua James in Senior Performance.

Mia Eatwell, Jason Herbert, Lottie Jordan, Thomas Hollis, Olivia Eatwell, Ewan Timms, Sofia Bloor, Harrison Astill, Daisy O'Brien, Sebastian Dibb, Aran Shuttlewood, Mollie Dibb, Teigan Parker, Harry Manship, Ruby O'Brien, Joshua James, Ellen Stone and Jonty Cartwright all received awards for their success in club galas.

In the 10-16 age category Connell Parker, Philip Warren, Nick Payne, Amy Pettigrew share the Margery Shepherd Trophy, awarded to those swimmers with the most points accumulated in the two club galas without actually winning an event. In the 6-9 age group Annabelle Cox and George Hughes received the trophy.

The Senior Ambassador went to Jill Wharfe, Club secretary for her work behind the scenes including helping the club to gain and maintain our swim21 accreditation.

The committee introduced a new award this year, an award voted for by the swimmers in Senior Performance for a swimmer in their squad that has a good attitude to training, someone who helps or motivates younger swimmers, their performance in team and individual galas and all round commitment to the club. A well-deserved winner of this award was fifteen year old Joshua James.